How do I wish to treat others? What does it mean to me to have the actions I do and the words I say reflect back on me? What motivates the things I say to others? Are there times when I clearly know I should be kinder, more thoughtful or more interested? What stops me from being more connected and considerate on those occasions? What about the times when I fail to live the Golden Rule? How will I get back on track?

Consider reading works that are based on the Golden Rule. Keep a few by your bedside table to remind you about it regularly. These works could be novels, books of positive sayings, works about peace, biographies of people who tried hard to live well and help others, etc. Don’t limit yourself to any one author or genre––read widely and learn as much as possible to stay inspired.

One way to show respect and kindness is to really listen to other people. When they’re speaking, actively listen with your whole body. Hear what they say, take note of their non-verbal communication, and avoid interrupting them.

Remind yourself how you want to live and how you wish to treat others when a moment of fury or knee-jerk reaction takes over. Wear or carry a token that represents the Golden Rule to you. Whenever you find yourself in a situation where you feel you’re going to break your allegiance to the Golden Rule, hold or rub the token to bring you back down to Earth.