For example, did you say something – maybe in a teasing way – that could have insulted her or hurt her feelings? Try asking, “Did I say or do something to upset you?”

Try saying, “I sincerely apologize. Can you forgive me?”

For example, give her a sticker of a band or organization she likes. Is there a travel destination she loves? Try giving her a souvenir of that place, to show her you care about her interests. You can send her something digitally for free, such as an e-card.

Try texting, “Hi! Haven’t talked to you in a while. How are you?”

For example, try joining a new activity, such as a hobby class or sport.

Try saying, “I’m just curious…what was it about me that you were interested in when we first met?”

Try saying, “I understand your feelings,” or “I support you. ”

For example, if you’ve done well at work or in school, casually mention it. Try saying, “That reminds me of something I read about the other day…”